Kein Sound nach aufrüstung von 2 auf 4 Gb

neewes

Cadet 3rd Year
Dabei seit
Dez. 2008
Beiträge
44
Hallo

Ich habe das Problem das nachdem ich meinen Rechner von 2 Gb 667 auf 4 Gb 800 Mhz Ram aufgerüstet habe der Sound nicht mehr Funktioniert. Wenn ich einen der 2Gb Riegel entferne geht er wieder. Das Mainboard ist ein Ms-7318, Betriebssystem ist Vista X32 Sp1, die Soundkarte ist ne Onboard, ist nen Komplett Pc von Microstar. Die 4Gb werden ordnungsgemäß unter Vista angezeigt.
Hoffe mir kann jemad helfen.
 

m-sharingan

Commander
Dabei seit
Okt. 2007
Beiträge
2.335
hm dann brauchst wohl die GB nicht mehr oder?^^

sag mal welche du hast vllt verkaufst du sie ja

da habe ich aber auch noch eine frage: ist es eigentlich egal dass man 2GB Ram von einem hersteller hat und die anderen 2GB RAm von nem anderen hersteller..beide jedoch 800 Mhz

ist de eigentlichtich egal? weil ich auch dann übertaken will...vllt kommt es dann bei der voltspannung zu komplikationen
 

dropback

Lt. Commander
Dabei seit
Dez. 2007
Beiträge
1.744
Besser ist es immer identischen Ram zu nutzen.
Damit geht man Inkompatibilitäten aus dem Weg.
Es kann auch mit unterschiedlichen Riegeln funktionieren, muss es aber nicht;)
 

neewes

Cadet 3rd Year
Ersteller dieses Themas
Dabei seit
Dez. 2008
Beiträge
44
Komisch hab noch zusätzlich einen alten 1 Gb Riegeln eingebaut also jetzt insgesamt 3 Gb und es läuft ohne Probleme, also 2 Gb schein zumindest nicht das maximum zu sein.
 

Pacci

Lt. Junior Grade
Dabei seit
Juli 2008
Beiträge
511
ja dann würd ich das so lassen bei solch ein system macht 4gig kein sinn hast du überhaupt ein 64 bit windows?
 

I_am_Lord

Lt. Junior Grade
Dabei seit
Juli 2008
Beiträge
476
viele Bords haben mit dem Speichercontroller Probleme wenn Sie voll bestückt werden ....deines gehört wohl auch dazu.
 

Pacci

Lt. Junior Grade
Dabei seit
Juli 2008
Beiträge
511
@i_am_Lord glaub eher es leigt and den medion oem board mit via chipsatz
 

Wytze

Newbie
Dabei seit
Dez. 2008
Beiträge
3
Hi,
Stumbled onto this topic and can confirm same bahavior of my MD8822 with MS-7318 motherboard:
Install 4 GB => sound fails
Install 3 GB => sound ok
Many support sites talk about 'maximum 2GB', yet these 3 GB seem to work OK, Vista system information tool reports:
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 3,00 GB
Total Physical Memory 3,00 GB
Available Physical Memory 1,70 GB

Question: would anyone know if there is a BIOS upgrade which would allow the MS-7318 to work with 4 GB (I understood that with 32bit OS like my Vista can only use a bit more than 3 GB, so, that is not why I would like it to work with 4 GB) My bios date (again acording to Vista System Information tool): 9-11-2006

I apologise for not writing in German - please reply in German!
 

Wytze

Newbie
Dabei seit
Dez. 2008
Beiträge
3
Hi,

Thanks for the reply. If an external sound device would still work - replacing the on-board one, I did not (could not) check. Might be a good workaround.

Please see the attached document for some more details from Vista's System Information tool.

It shows that with the 4GB installed, the normal sound device has disappeared.

The JPG file shows the system tray in the 4 GB state.

Greetz,
 

Anhänge

Jackie78

Lieutenant
Dabei seit
Okt. 2004
Beiträge
909
Hallo,

gibt es für das Audio-Problem inzwischen eine Lösung in Form eines neuen BIOS? Es kann eigentlich nicht sein, dass ein doch relativ neues System (ca. 2 Jahre alt) keinen Vollausbau unterstützt, oder? Ich hätte ohne nachlesen im Forum jetzt ganz naiv behauptet, dass ein 2x2GB Kit problemlos funktionieren müsste, aber offenbar ist dem nicht so, was man eigentlich nur als Pfusch bezeichnen kann :(
 
Zuletzt bearbeitet:

Wytze

Newbie
Dabei seit
Dez. 2008
Beiträge
3
Hi Forum & Jackie78,

First of all, I found this to be a complex subject and learned new things. I might btw still be wrong; this is just the results from some Googling and me attempting to read it, so beware :-)

There seem a few things to consider here:
1) What is the maximum address space Vista 32 bit can address?
2) How much of this address space is available for 'computer RAM'?
3) Does my PC have a limit due to hardware, BIOS, etc.?

(1) Vista 32bit can address 4 GB max.
See http://www.vistaclues.com/reader-question-maximum-memory-in-32-bit-windows-vista/

(2) A bit over 3 GB.
The 4 GB from (1) is all Vista can address, this means BIOS, Video card, PCI stuff, etc. and real RAM. In practice, with today BIOS size and addresses required by Video RAM, you can only effectively address a bit more than 3 GB. How much 'a bit' is, depends on how your PC was designed. Again: see the website above and its links. It also explains that there are methods to use more RAM, but hardware and programs must specifically be designed to use it. Most are not.

3) See you motherboard manual.
Some motherboards accept 4 GB [or even more] of memory chips, but will never effectively use more then what (2) allows in case of 32 bit Vista (or XP). Some motherboards go bananas if you put in too much (e.g. the MS-7318 as used in the MD8822).
In the MD8822/MS-7318 case, the manual states: 'maximum 2 GB'. It so happens that if you put in 3 GB, there is no conflict and it works with 3 GB, close it real maximum. Unfortunately, the motherboard cannot handle 2x2GB=4GB (the audio problem that started this thread). You could call that a bug in this board. And perhaps a BIOS upgrade could fix this. But, even if fixed, the maximum real usuable RAM would be bit over 3 GB. The remaining 'bit less than 1 GB' would just sit there doing nothing.

Bottom line:
I found that inserting 2+1=3GB gets me close (enough) to the practical maximum; 4 GB makes no sense. It is somewhat unfortunate that the board cannot handle 2+2GB, but I have learned to live with it. Bottom line I still feel it was a real value-for-money PC

W.
 
Top